Speight gets Wallabies call-up

Fijian-born wing Henry Speight has been included in the Wallabies squad for the Rugby Championship.

However, Speight only becomes eligible to represent his adopted country on 11 September, which means he will have to wait until the Test against Argentina on the Gold Coast before making his debut.

Meanwhile, Will Genia was ruled out of contention due to injury, but could join the squad midway through the tournament. Nick Phipps, Nic White and Luke Burgess were named as the squad's three scrumhalves.

Waratahs flanker Michael Hooper will once again captain the side after taking over from the injured Stephen Moore early in the Wallabies' three-Test series against France last month.

Wallabies squad – Ben Alexander, Pek Cowan, Sekope Kepu, Scott Sio, James Slipper, Nathan Charles, James Hanson, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Sam Carter, James Horwill, Rob Simmons, Will Skelton, Scott Fardy, Scott Higginbotham, Matt Hodgson, Michael Hooper, Ben McCalman, Wycliff Palu, Luke Burgess, Nick Phipps, Nic White, Kurtley Beale, Bernard Foley, Tevita Kuridrani, Christian Leali’ifano, Matt Toomua, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Henry Speight, Israel Folau, Rob Horne, Pat McCabe, Joe Tomane.

Photo: Stefan Postles/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt