Blitzboks’ match schedule for Olympic Games revealed

The match schedule for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics rugby sevens competition has been confirmed by Tokyo 2020 and World Rugby with 19 days to go until the tournament begins.

Players, teams and fans around the world can now finalise their preparations and look forward to six days of intense, action-packed competition at Tokyo Stadium, with matches played during two competition sessions per day.

The tournament will get off to a flying start with the highly anticipated encounter between Rio 2016 Olympic champions Fiji and hosts Japan in the opening match of the men’s competition at 9am local time (GMT+9) on 26 July.

Another highlight in the men’s schedule is antipodean rivals New Zealand and Australia taking to the pitch in the final match in Pool A on 27 July.

The men’s competition will culminate in the gold medal match at 6pm local time on 28 July.

The Blitzboks – playing as Team South Africa – will begin their Olympic tournament against Olympic debutants Ireland, who secured the final spot thanks to a victory over France in the World Rugby Sevens Repechage, before facing Kenya in the final game of day one.

Neil Powell’s team will then renew their rivalry with the USA in their final pool match on 27 July.

Should the Blitzboks finish top of Pool C, they will face whichever team finishes second in Pool A, which could be either New Zealand, Australia or Argentina, in the quarter-finals. If the Blitzboks finish second in Pool C, they will meet the second-placed team in Pool B, likely to be either Fiji or Great Britain.

The Blitzboks could also qualify for the quarter-finals as the best or second-best third-placed team in the three pools.

Full match schedule

Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

Post by

Dylan Jack